HomeInsights25 EU Member States sign up to cooperate on Artificial Intelligence


+44 (0)20 7612 9612

On 10 April, 25 European countries signed a Declaration of cooperation on Artificial Intelligence (AI). The European Commission says that whereas a number of Member States had already announced national initiatives on AI, they have now declared a strong will to join forces and engage in a European approach to deal therewith. By teaming up, the opportunities of AI for Europe can be fully ensured, while the challenges can be dealt with collectively.

The Member States agreed to work together on the most important issues raised by AI, from ensuring Europe’s competitiveness in the research and deployment of AI, to dealing with social, economic, ethical and legal questions.

The Commission says that the Declaration builds further on the achievements and investments of the European research and business community in AI. AI is already used by citizens daily and facilitates both their personal and professional lives. It can also solve key societal challenges, from sustainable healthcare to climate change and from cybersecurity to sustainable migration. The technology is clearly becoming a key driver for economic growth through the digitisation of industry and for society as a whole.

The emergence of AI also brings challenges that need to be addressed, the Commission says. An anticipatory approach is needed to deal with AI’s transformation of the labour market. It is necessary to modernise Europe’s education and training systems, including up-skilling and reskilling European citizens. New legal and ethical questions should also be considered. An environment of trust and accountability around the development and use of AI is needed to fully profit from the opportunities it brings.

Building on today’s commitments, the Commission will present a Communication on AI in the coming weeks.

The countries that have signed the Declaration are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, UK, Norway. To read the Commission’s press release in full, click here.