HomeInsightsHouse of Commons International Trade Select Committee launches inquiry into future UK trade negotiations with non-EU countries


+44 (0)20 7612 9612

The Department for International Trade (DIT) is responsible for negotiations with non-EU countries, and has stated its intention to negotiate Free Trade Agreements (FTAs) with the US, Japan, Australia, and New Zealand. The DIT has also indicated that it may seek further trade partnerships, including with Canada, Singapore, and the Gulf Cooperation Council.

The Committee welcomes submissions on some or all of the following points, on an ongoing basis:

  • Does the DIT have the right objectives in respect of each FTA negotiation?
  • What are the potential opportunities and risks of each proposed FTA?
  • How robust is DIT’s approach to determining the potential impacts of its proposed FTAs?
  • What consideration should DIT give to the sequencing of its proposed FTAs, particularly with respect to the simultaneous negotiations being undertaken with the EU by the Cabinet Office?
  • In respect of each negotiation, how effectively is the Government representing the interests of, and communicating with, devolved nations, local government, businesses, consumers and civil society groups?
  • How effectively is the Government coordinating across Departments and stakeholders, particularly in relation to aspects of the negotiations with the EU that may affect other trade negotiations?
  • Is Parliament able to effectively scrutinise ongoing negotiations?

To read the Committee’s summary of the inquiry and for a link to the UK trade negotiations inquiry page, click here.