HomeInsightsOfcom publishes statement confirming changes to access service requirements for non-domestic TV channels

Non-domestic TV channels are channels that are licensed by Ofcom, but broadcast in other Member States of the European Union.

The changes confirmed by Ofcom bring signing obligations for non-domestic channels in line with obligations that apply to channels broadcasting to the UK.

The changes also extend access service obligations to channels licensed by Ofcom and made available in Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

Ofcom has also extended until 31 December 2017 the transitional period during which non-domestic channels with smaller audiences are allowed to meet their signing requirements by providing additional subtitling in lieu of signing.

This statement follows a consultation in October last year. To access the statement, click here.